WHAT OUR CLIENTS SAY

Here are the latest reviews by Swell clients.

All Reviews 4.9manual logoManual 5.0google logoGoogle 5.0tripadvisor logoTripAdvisor 4.9
Overall Rating
4.9 296 reviews
Google filterGoogleTripAdvisor filterTripAdvisor
Alexandra T. Avatar
Alexandra T.
09 Feb 2024
Highly recommend. I visited Swell as a solo traveller while remote working and had a wonderful time. I had never surfed before and all of their instructors were informative, patient and fun. The camp itself is clean, a great place to relax and wifi is strong enough to work remotely (although its better in the communal areas over the rooms). The rooms are clean and comfortable. The group dinners and daily breakfasts were all delicious. The location is great because you're both near the town of Cabarate, and then just a short taxi away from the surf beach (which Swell provides with lessons/rental twice a day). Highly recommend.
Shreya Ley Avatar
Shreya L.
24 Jan 2024
My husband and I spent 7 or 8 days at Swell. I went into the week thinking that I hated surfing and was mostly going because my husband was super excited about it. I loaded up on books and figured I’d work remotely.
Well, I got there and within a couple days, I was actually surfing and I couldn’t imagine not going every day. The staff and surf instructors were so stoked about surfing, I couldn’t help but be stoked too. The instructors were excellent and patient and nice.
The food they cook for you is all really delicious. The referrals they had for restaurants and other activities were great. All the people working at Swell were very very nice. Everyone we encountered in connection with Swell was super nice and lovely. The location isn’t on the beach but I thought that was a positive because it was probably quieter. Highly recommend doing the yoga as well.
Swell
jim tussey Avatar
jim t.
15 Jan 2024
Great crew helping to everyone get their merit badge in surfing basics. DR is a friendly place.
Swell
Grace Ledding Avatar
Grace L.
25 Dec 2023
Look no further this is a spectacular surf camp! Great location and the rooms look just like the photos - tidy, comfy beds, showers work well. But what makes this place spectacular is the staff. Everyone is warm and welcoming and I felt right at home as a solo traveller. The meals were delicious. I’ve taken surf lessons all over the world and Luciano is by far and away the best instructor I’ve had. As opposed to the supervised chaos I’ve experienced in the past - he has actual lesson plans and goals for each session so you have measurable progress. Jeffrey is also great. I felt safe and confident - and above all had a lot of fun. Hats off to Haudy the host who organizes everything seamlessly. Thanks everyone for making my first solo surf trip so fantastic. See you again soon!
Valerie Avatar
Valerie
03 Nov 2023
Amazing boutique hotel with Incredible instructors. The pictures online look exactly like the place. Every staff member has been so kind, helpful, pleasant & a joy to be around. My surfing abilities have grown exponentially even in just a week. It has been a dream vacation, am so grateful for this experience, & have learned so much.
Tatiana Perlroth Avatar
Tatiana P.
09 Oct 2023
Loved the camp and people working there. Everyone was very friendly and genuinely cared for you having a great time. The accommodations are smartly designed and well run so you have everything you need and more. Clean, thoughtful and beautiful. The food was always fresh and delicious. The camp manager Haudy was so welcoming that I've got a feeling as I am visiting my extended family :).
Learning surfing was of course the best part :).
Starting from zero I dint expect much. Thankfully, I've got very lucky to have an incredible coach, Luciano Gonzalez. He is a professional world renown water sports champion for many years. His level of knowledge and expertise is far above of any advance level surfing. Luciano was able to congest and simplify technics to allow me progress in unbelievably short time. I am extremely thankful to my coach Luciano and entire Swell team. Looking forward coming back!
Swell
Kaye Mao Avatar
Kaye M.
17 Jul 2023
We had a great time learning to surf with Neno and the gang as total beginners. The rooms look like the photos and the food they cook is phenomenal. 10/10 would come again!
Swell
Coraline1985 Avatar
Coraline1985
New York
5 star rating
10 Jul 2023
Terrific Surf Adventure for Solo Traveller I spent 6 days at Swell Surf camp. I highly recommend this boutique style accommodation and outstanding quality surf lessons. Each day I partook in two surf lessons. In between we all gathered for an AMAZING breakfast. I am already missing the food and I have been home just 2 days. Words cannot describe how nutritious and delicious my diet was during my stay at Swell. Lessons are led by experienced, award-winning instructors. I learned so very much and cannot even believe the small hard surf board I graduated to by day 4. You really do learn from the best. I also have to mention how much fun it is to ride in the van with everyone to Encuento Beach Beach. This transportation is prompt and safe. We all enjoyed music, laughter, and chatter on the way to and from the beach each morning. Haudy, Swell's Manager, is completely focused on making your stay a wonderful time. She is so kind and welcoming. She is smart and does not miss a beat. You are in good hands with Haudy. Monday, Wednesday, and Friday I always looked forward to yoga with Molly and followed by a delicious meal cooked right in the open dining room beside the pool. I got to sit down with my new friends and surf instructors and celebrate the joys of each day. Tuesday and Thursday I spent dinner at various restaurants on the beach just a... I spent 6 days at Swell Surf camp. I highly recommend this boutique style accommodation and outstanding quality surf lessons.

Each day I partook in two surf lessons. In between we all gathered for an AMAZING breakfast. I am already missing the food and I have been home just 2 days. Words cannot describe how nutritious and delicious my diet was during my stay at Swell.

Lessons are led by experienced, award-winning instructors. I learned so very much and cannot even believe the small hard surf board I graduated to by day 4. You really do learn from the best. I also have to mention how much fun it is to ride in the van with everyone to Encuento Beach Beach. This transportation is prompt and safe. We all enjoyed music, laughter, and chatter on the way to and from the beach each morning.

Haudy, Swell's Manager, is completely focused on making your stay a wonderful time. She is so kind and welcoming. She is smart and does not miss a beat. You are in good hands with Haudy.

Monday, Wednesday, and Friday I always looked forward to yoga with Molly and followed by a delicious meal cooked right in the open dining room beside the pool. I got to sit down with my new friends and surf instructors and celebrate the joys of each day.

Tuesday and Thursday I spent dinner at various restaurants on the beach just a 5-7 min walk from Swell house. There is SO much to do and see on your free time.

Cabarete is an amazing place! The culture, food, and weather is outstanding.

My bedroom at Swell felt like home! The bed is super comfortable. The bathroom and room is tidy and clean. The AC and fan make returning "home" from hot days in DR so such a luxury haven. I slept so well in my room each nap and evening.

I also took advantage of the excursions. I signed up for the Canyoning trip. I got to see some new sites, continue with my fitness/exercise, and swim in cool waters.

I will go back to Swell! It was amazing.

HUGE thank you to the staff, instructors, security, chefs, housekeepers, and Michel (transportation). More
Swell
Coraline1985 Avatar
Coraline1985
5 star rating
10 Jul 2023
Terrific Surf Adventure for Solo Traveller I spent 6 days at Swell Surf camp. I highly recommend this boutique style accommodation and outstanding quality surf lessons. Each day I partook in two surf lessons. In between we all gathered for an AMAZING breakfast. I am already missing the food and I have been home just 2 days. Words cannot describe how nutritious and delicious my diet was during my stay at Swell. Lessons are led by experienced, award-winning instructors. I learned so very much and cannot even believe the small hard surf board I graduated to by day 4. You really do learn from the best. I also have to mention how much fun it is to ride in the van with everyone to Encuento Beach Beach. This transportation is prompt and safe. We all enjoyed music, laughter, and chatter on the way to and from the beach each morning. Haudy, Swell's Manager, is completely focused on making your stay a wonderful time. She is so kind and welcoming. She is smart and does not miss a beat. You are in good hands with Haudy. Monday, Wednesday, and Friday I always looked forward to yoga with Molly and followed by a delicious meal cooked right in the open dining room beside the pool. I got to sit down with my new friends and surf instructors and celebrate the joys of each day. Tuesday and Thursday I spent dinner at various restaurants on the beach just a 5-7 min walk from Swell house. There is SO much to do and see on your free time. Cabarete is an amazing place! The culture, food, and weather is outstanding. My bedroom at Swell felt like home! The bed is super comfortable. The bathroom and room is tidy and clean. The AC and fan make returning "home" from hot days in DR so such a luxury haven. I slept so well in my room each nap and evening. I also took advantage of the excursions. I signed up for the Canyoning trip. I got to see some new sites, continue with my fitness/exercise, and swim in cool waters. I will go back to Swell! It was amazing. HUGE thank you to the staff, instructors, security, chefs, housekeepers, and Michel (transportation).
Tripadvisor
Justine S Avatar
Justine S.
5 star rating
26 May 2023
My best surf camp experience, so far........ I’ve just returned from a 10 night stay at Swell safe camp. I have to say it was one of my best holiday experiences of all time and I’ve been on a lot of vacations, including surf camps in several different countries.
I am well used to traveling alone, but as a 51 year old, I wasn’t sure at first to believe how well I would fit in at a place like Swell. From the moment I enter the building (which looks even better in real life than the photos) all my fears and anxieties were relieved. I don’t think I’ve ever walked into such a welcoming space.
Neno, the chief Surf Instructor and the other guys were all there to greet me, along with the wonderful Haudy, who is managing the place.
My first surf lesson began the day after my arrival, but before that I was asked about myself experience so that they could make sure I was placed in the right group which was encouraging.
As an 'intermediate surfer', I was generally with Henrri who I found it to be incredibly helpful and encouraging. Even though I have some surf experience, I learned a lot more tips and advice from the team who were always on hand to help. Neno particularly offered extra advice if he saw me making errors. The pool paddle practice, and the theory lessons were also quite useful to me.
The food, both breakfasts and dinners were superb, and the overall ambience of the place was second to none when I compared to other surf camps I have visited in the past. Rooms are spotlessly, clean and very relaxing to be in.
I even tried a couple of hours of wing foiling lessons which I thoroughly enjoyed but as I didn’t start until the fourth day of my trip unfortunately I run out of time to make enough progress.
I would definitely choose Swell again and my advice would be to start the other activities sooner rather than later if you want to learn them too! Thanks Swell team, Justine.
Swell
Tim Fraley Avatar
Tim F.
17 Mar 2023
Just returned from a week at Swell and am already trying to figure out when I can return. The surf coaches are all great and work closely with you throughout your time in and out of the water. They truly wanted you to succeed every day by providing any feedback and encouragement needed. The accommodations were clean and perfect for the vibe swell is going for. The room was cleaned daily and never did I feel unsafe in the room or the location. Your safe is large enough for a smaller laptop and valuables so you do not need to worry when not onsite and a security person is there throughout the night to ensure your safety. The food each day was wonderful and they were happy to change things to your liking if needed. There are also tons of great options for food nearby and easily walkable. The transportation was always on time to ensure you got to the break earlier than anyone else out there, we even left slightly earlier a few days to ensure we go the best conditions thanks to Neno's suggestion. Yoga was also great and well taught, highly recommend it at the end of a long day. Haudy was very helpful in arranging excursions and any additional needed transportation/suggestions. Clare also checked in to see how things were going during the week which was a nice extra touch. Best of all is meeting likeminded folks from all over who became close friends by the end of the week. If you need a reset and active vacation I highly recommend swell, it truly is like going to camp as an adult!
Swell
J-Bean Avatar
J-Bean
17 Jan 2023
Wonderful time. Went solo and a bit last minute but booking with Clare was easy and prompt. Met some amazing people and ate amazing food but most of all, tried surfing (something I never thought I’d attempt in my lifetime). I could not go daily though because it took a toll on me so I paced myself. Also did yoga all 3 days (loved Molly whom was patient with me and helped with my form and I’m now convinced to do more of it), snorkeling (I’ve never been dropped out in the middle of the ocean to snorkel before and the guide was super calm and patient) and canyoning (also first time and I took every single jump into the cool water! hiking park was great - more my jam), all easily arranged by the manager. Staff on site from night guards to the cooks, cleaner/repair guy and the manager were great. Drivers were cool too! Neno, mad props to this guy. Wonderful surf instructor who cares about teaching and helps you have fun at the same time. The guy clearly takes his job seriously. The rest of the team were super chill too. I may bring my little girl out next time for her to try it out when she’s strong enough to lift a board on her own. I wish there were direct flights. I loved how intimate everything was, but how there was a bit of “city life” in the small town it was in. I’ve never been fond of being in the ocean after some trauma in the past but I made myself do it in my 40s and I am so glad this team helped me get past my fears! YOLO.
Swell
Steve B. Avatar
Steve B.
17 Jan 2023
Simply a Great Experience!
I just spent 10 days at Swell in December, 2022. I had a super time. As a result of a large storm in the Mid-Atlantic, the surf was larger than normal. So, as a beginner surfer, I spent my time in the secondary whitewater. But I still enjoyed it thoroughly.
The surf instructors, led by Neno, were such nice guys -- Henry, Danny and Melvin. In fact, the entire staff at Swell, led by the manager Houdy, was super-professional and super-accommodating.
Food was great, room was clean and tasteful, and the other guests were an amiable mix of folks from England, Canada and the U.S. I'd definitely recommend Swell for those that want to learn to surf and have a lovely time in a stunning place.
Swell
Brian Gallagher Avatar
Brian G.
17 Dec 2022
We completed our stay last week at Swell and had such a fantastic time! Overall, the experience was so different than any other vacation we have done in the past. The atmosphere at Swell and the team running the operations were very professional, and I can't say enough about them and the welcoming environment they provided to us daily.
The breakfasts every day and the quality of their home-cooked dinners Monday, Wednesday, and Friday were delicious!
We enjoyed the like-minded guests during our stay. It's like the Swell Universe brings the right people together to collaborate for healthy conservations and experiences.
Swell
Stephen Churchville Avatar
Stephen C.
17 Dec 2022
Great trip: food, service, fellow guests, and surf instruction all exceeded expectations. And management was a huge help replacing broken phone!
Swell
Pamela Cheung Avatar
Pamela C.
17 Oct 2022
This review is long overdue as I have been twice to this surf camp. A gem of a place to treat yourself to for an active vacation! With luxurious en-suite accommodations with all amenities provided for (more than basics), such as shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, bath towels, and beach towels... Just bring your bathing suit! The rooms are cleaned everyday. The meals were among the best I've ever had, prepared with care by two smiling local ladies. If only I could eat like this year-long...Two long surf sessions to perfect your skills starting early in the morning. It was the most natural wake-up call to go greet the ocean each morning, chauffeured by a happy-go-lucky Miguel. The facilites (outdoor pool, pool table, baby foot, communal dining areas and lounge) were good for social interactions, or quiet alone downtime. A step away is the beach and Cabarete, a town full of locals and expats, with restaurants, bars and shops to explore. Don't forget to book the canyoning activity, one of the most memorable physical activities. I also lucked out in trying wind surfing at no cost, some local surfer just kindly offered a free lesson... And most of all, I felt so lucky to meet all the persons, working at Swell or vacationing there, and to be in such great company! Special shoutout to Neno and Haudy, who basically make this place THE place! A must for people who despise all-inclusive resorts where alcohol flow freely with nothing to do but lounge around... You will love this place!
Swell
Amy Bryant Avatar
Amy B.
17 Aug 2022
Highly Recommend! Such a great experience and so much to do along with surfing. The Swell rooms are exceptionally clean. The staff are all so friendly and accommodating. The surf instructors are some of the best I’ve ever had. The management is wonderful and organized. So nice to have a swell taxi pick us up to drive a short distance, to surf every day. I felt well taken care of and happy in this beautiful place!
I am looking forward to returning.
Swell
  • 1
  • 2
  • 18
  • >
Follow Us on Instagram

  • “Think of Swell as the anti-surf camp. There’s plenty of surfing, of course, but the similarities to other surf camps end there. For starters, the rooms are stylish — more boutique surf retreat than reggae-loving surfer digs. Then there are the legendary breakfasts (omelets, pancakes and crepes, fresh-squeezed orange juice, and fruit bowls). Structured surf lessons take place each morning, with an instructor alongside you and the head surf coach watching from shallow water, ready to offer learn to surf tips between riding waves. If you are serious about learning to surf, then Swell should be on top of your destination list. Highly recommended!

    Reference Source:
    [Frommer’s Travel Guides]

    Designed with the discerning surfer in mind, Swell is far from a crash pad. The spare clean lines, plush bedding, modern photographs and funky furniture say ‘boutique surf retreat’ but the pool, ping-pong and foosball tables and social vibe suggest otherwise. A huge wood communal table is the center of the hanging-out action, after all the surfing is done. Highly recommended!

    Reference Source:
    [Lonely Planet]

  • SWELL

    SURF, SUN AND GOOD VIBES

    RATED


    4.93 Stars - From 339 Reviews